fuzzy hedgehog bento

22 03 2011

tomorrow’s bento is a tofu hedgehog, made fuzzy with the use of katsuo bushi (dried, shaved bonito flakes).  at one of my neighborhood japanese restaurants, i love to order the cold tofu with shaved bonito — so i think this will be a great flavor combination, especially with the wakame rice underneath.

there is additional tofu underneath the rice, and the top portion of the bento has steamed broccoli florets, a vegetarian-ham-and-cheese toadstool, a broiled shiitake (get it? one fake and one real mushroom!), some takuwan flowers with pea pod accents, and a ripe tomato.

posted in “what’s for lunch wednesday” — what are you having?!


Actions

Information

24 responses

22 03 2011
sheri

So cute with the katsuobushi fur! I never think of using raw tofu though I should, just to see what my boy would think. As for me, I can never open a package of tofu without immediately eating some. It’s the cold texture or something :)

22 03 2011
gamene

i’m with you! i love tofu any way (pan-fried is great too, so is jigae), but there is nothing as refreshing as cold, custardy yummy right-out-of-the-package!

22 03 2011
Debra

Ah… I’m with you both. Cold, fresh tofu..l I love it too. Awesome bento as always Megan! Thanks for sharing the cute!

22 03 2011
gamene

thanks debra! always appreciate your kind words :o)

have you guys been to china and had the fresh, yogurt-ish-consistency street tofu there? AWESOME

22 03 2011
LovelyBento

Hey me tooooooooo!! love the cold tofu.. just sprinkle some fried onions with spring onoins on it n light soya sauce is just so yummmyyyyy! love to see your hedgehog and the ham flowers with the fake and real mushrooms :) Will remember this and do some rose (ham) for my girl too ^v^

22 03 2011
gamene

ooh, that sounds great too! love fried onions, how could it go wrong. thanks so much for your comment and recipe idea :D

23 03 2011
Lia Chen

Everyone said it … I think I have to join the club too because love tofu so much. Brilliant idea to make your hedgehog from tofu. Spot the hedgehog pick too :)

23 03 2011
gamene

thanks lia dear! tee hee, i found that teeny hedgehog in my pick drawer and thought, finally — perfect time to use him :-)

23 03 2011
karaimame

Yep, i will agree with everyone else too. However… eating cold tofu belongs to good memories only. The tofu they sell here is awful.
I loved the hedgehog! I may sound biased saying this but it is so cute ^^. (my youngest daughter nickname is “pikkusiili”,small hedgehog in finnish :P )
Great bento Megan!

23 03 2011
gamene

awww, i had no idea about your daughter’s nickname — so cute! i dedicate this bento to her!! :-)

23 03 2011
tatabonita

Thanks for sharing the cuteness Megan :D. I never make a hedgehog bento before, so I think I’ll follow you again to make one as I did before by making your walruses bento. Hey, I have posted my walruses bento… Wanna take a look? :D

23 03 2011
gamene

hey ta, i saw your walruses bento (thanks for the mention!) and i thought it was fabulous! thanks for your lovely comment, and can’t wait to see your hedgehog too!

23 03 2011
Sonoma Bento

Hedgehogs are soooo cute. When I lived in Germany, I would see little hedgehog designs on everything. It’s too bad they aren’t more popular here in the US. Love the idea of bonito flakes on tofu, it’s really perfect for this little hedgehog. Enjoy your lunch!

23 03 2011
gamene

hi michele, i’m enjoying it as we speak! thanks for stopping by and for your kind words — and i agree, this motif needs to be on more things :0)

23 03 2011
Bentobird/Jenn

hi, sorry to be late for the hedgehog party, but wow how clever and cute this is! the mushroom forest accents rounds out the adorable tableau :D

23 03 2011
gamene

thanks jenn! got the idea from one of lucky sundae’s bentos, she used panko on the hedgie and i thought hey, i know something that would be tasty!

24 03 2011
Pipaw

So cute! You’re back there’s no doubt! I love the way you made your tiny mushroom!

24 03 2011
gamene

thanks pauline! you are so sweet :-)

25 03 2011
Susan Yuen

So cute! I love the hedgehog and the bento is arrange so beautifully!

25 03 2011
gamene

thanks! MRB helping the arrangement of course :-)

29 03 2011
Charissa

Dude, that is so adorable! I can’t wait to try something similar!

29 03 2011
gamene

thanks so much charissa! :o)

29 03 2011
blog by tina

way cuter than my lunch today! or everyday for that matter. well except that day I ate the basket of puppies.

well done!

29 03 2011
gamene

thanks tina! not all my lunches are this cute, but sometimes it’s nice to take the time to do something special to give yourself a couple of minutes of “me time” in the busy workday… plus it’s fun/funny to then eat your animal creations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

