“fit for life” bento

6 01 2010

tonight is my contribution to hapa bento’s b.o.m.b. (best of the month bento) project, for which this month’s theme is… ROASTING!

the roasted veg here is really my side dish, but since it’s the b.o.m.b. theme i’ll discuss it first. basically, i kept it simple – asparagus, baby bella mushrooms, grape tomatoes, yellow squash and brussels sprouts roasted in my toaster oven (energy efficient and the perfect size for roasting only enough to feed one) with a little bit of extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, cracked pepper, and thyme. thanks again to hapa for hosting this contest on her awesome blog, and for inspiring us all to use this healthy cooking method more often!

roasting aside, the sandwich here is kind of the main event. sometimes when the boyfriend and i are feeling lazy we have “sando night” and pig out on crazy sandwiches stuffed with whatever we want. the boyfriend chose hummus and salami (weird, right?) whereas i chose a concoction from his mom’s yummy sandwich shop (ygnacio cafe in walnut creek, ca – highly recommend if you are ever in the area) that she has dubbed “fit for life.” this magical sammie consists of wheat bread (i like mine toasted), with cream cheese, sprouts, avocado, and sliced black olives. i also added baked lemon-pepper tofu to mine to give it a little bit more protein, and added a pretty accent with some nashi-and-beet blossoms (snow pea “leaves,” sesame seed centers).

fruit sidecar has fanned strawberries, green grapes, the last two slices of starfruit, and a skewer of blueberries (i thought the blue matched the main box nicely).


Actions

Information

27 responses

6 01 2010
sheri

Whoa, definitely sounds fit for life!
Walnut Creek is just over the hill for me… I have always thought sandies are a great way to put all of whatever together without having to think about it. Good one!

6 01 2010
gamene

thanks sheri, and welcome back! hope your vacay was awesome (from twitpics seems like it was!) and that you have had a chance to recover from the flight back…

7 01 2010
Lil'chan

My, that sounds yummy! And your flower decoration is simply perfect ^-^

7 01 2010
Lexi

That sandwich sounds delicious – as do the roasted veggies!

7 01 2010
gamene

thanks for your comments lil’chan and lexi!

7 01 2010
Fit for Life Bento – Bento Central

[…] more details on the roasted veggies and delicious sandwich concoction, visit bento zen! Share and […]

7 01 2010
Bentobird/Jenn

hi gamene, did you ever come across the “Fit for Life” book? I did in college and it had some super healthy recipes that this lovely bento just reminded me of. The most memorable and easy one involved sauteing all of one’s favorite veggies, the more colorful the better, and filling a toasted BIG tortilla with them along with sliced avocado, sprouts and a bit of mayo. Yum! Need to make one of those soon🙂

7 01 2010
gamene

that sounds soooo delish, jenn! have never heard of that book, but heading over to amazon now to check it out, and will keep that tortilla in mind for the next time i have use-up veggies in the fridge! (though the tortillas i’m able to find in new york are NEVER as big or pliable as the ones in SF, unfortunately…)

7 01 2010
bentobird

Yes–the perfect recipe for turning leftover, slightly sad veggies into something so good! Fit for Life has this stringent food combining plan that I couldn’t keep to–no cheese or butter on my pasta you say?!! but nevertheless some very fresh, energizing veggie recipes! How cool that you and S.O. share Cali culinary roots!

8 01 2010
Lia Chen

Ooh I missed 3 posts of yours bento and tried to catch up …
This bento is really BOMB!!

8 01 2010
gamene

@ jenn — just ordered the book on amazon! we’ll see (no butter or cheese ever is a dealbreaker for me, too, but i don’t see why some of the ideas can’t be tweaked). now i see why i missed out on this book when it first came out: i was only 7, haha!

@ lia — thanks for stopping by and taking the time to catch up, and thanks for your compliment! haha, hapa’s BOMB theme is super fun, huh?

8 01 2010
bentobird

Hi gamene,
Neat! I was 14 when it came out, and now I’m more accurately recalling that I came across this book in high school, not college…haha!

1 12 2010
Cool Life images | uAre Successful

[…] sandwich concoction (which my boyfriend’s mom has dubbed the "fit for life"), visit bento zen.Lastest Google NewsTweet This post was thanked 0 time(s). Thank it […]

23 12 2010
Nice Fitted photos | My Blog

[…] for more details on my roasted veggies this this awesome sandwich concoction (which my boyfriend’s mom has dubbed the "fit for life"), visit bento zen. […]

8 04 2012
“fit for life” bento | GoPin IT

[…] sandwich concoction (which my boyfriend’s mom has dubbed the "fit for life"), visit bento zen. Tags: Bento, […]

2 12 2012
Cool Fit For images of life | Dance and lose weight while getting fit

[…] “fit for life” bento Image GAMENESS KENNELS my contribution to bomb theme roasting . For more details on my roasted vegetable sandwich that this great mixture (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “fit for life”), visit bento zen . […]

26 02 2013
Den wins second place in the contest Fit For Life Weight Loss | Health and Fitness Products Information

[…] “fit for life” bento Image GAMENESS KENNELS my contribution to bomb theme roasting . For more details on my roasted vegetable sandwich that this great mixture (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “fit for life”), visit bento zen . […]

27 02 2013
Den wins second place in the contest Fit For Life Weight Loss | Get in shape with MYO reps

[…] “fit for life” bento Image GAMENESS KENNELS my contribution to bomb theme roasting . For more details on my roasted vegetable sandwich that this great mixture (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “fit for life”), visit bento zen . […]

20 03 2013
Beautiful Fit For Life Photos | The Fitness Magazine

[…] won second place in the contest Fit For Life Weight Loss alt = “ Image GAMENESS KENNELS my contribution to bomb theme roasting . For more details on my roasted vegetable sandwich that this great mixture (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “fit for life”), visit bento zen . […]

24 03 2013
Beautiful Fit For Life Photos | Health and Fitness for Mind and Body

[…] won second place in the contest Fit For Life Weight Loss alt = “ Image GAMENESS KENNELS my contribution to bomb theme roasting . For more details on my roasted vegetable sandwich that this great mixture (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “fit for life”), visit bento zen . […]

5 04 2013
Den wins second place in contest Fit For Life Weight Loss | Your Body Motivation

[…] Den wins second place in contest Fit For Life weight loss alt = “ Image by GAMENESS KENNELS my contribution to the bomb theme roasting. For more details on my roasted vegetables this concoction this awesome sandwich (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “Fit for Life”), visit bento zen . […]

30 05 2013
Cool Fit For Life Pictures | Fitness Over 40

[…] sandwich (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “Fit for Life”), visit bento zen . Den wins second place in Fit For Life Weight Loss Contest Den won second place in the […]

3 08 2013
Cool Fit For Life Pictures | Get Lean Fast

[…] sandwich (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “Fit for Life”), visit bento zen . Fit for Life “program Yongsan Yongsan Garrison, South Korea – Fit For Life […]

7 08 2013
Den wins second place in contest Fit For Life Weight Loss | Top Fitness Information Resource

[…] sandwich (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “Fit for Life”), visit bento zen . Fit for Life “program Yongsan Yongsan Garrison, South Korea – Fit For Life […]

23 08 2013
“Adapting to life” bento | Lose Belly Fat Instantly

[…] sandwich (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “Fit for Life”), visit bento zen . Den wins second place in Fit For Life Weight Loss Contest Den won second place in the […]

10 11 2013
Nice photos embedded | Health Is Wealth

[…] sandwich (which my boyfriend’s mother has dubbed the “Fit for Life”), visit bento zen . Honda Fit EV Concept new Fit EV Concept electric vehicle made its world debut at the 2010 […]

13 06 2014
Nice Fitted photos | Making money online

[…] sandwich concoction (which my boyfriend’s mom has dubbed the "fit for life"), visit bento zen. top-fitting cami To make this top I started from the beaded cami at blackdog […]

Leave a Reply

