lioness bento

1 02 2010

another quick bento tonight, since i got back from a completely bananas movie pretty late and (shamefully) ate pizza and popcorn for dinner, thereby producing no leftovers for bento purposes. what do you do when you have no leftovers? grilled cheese to the rescue! and what makes a grilled cheese better? fried egg!

recently a sweet bento pal sent me this cool nesting onigiri set with a family of lions on the lids (thanks again, you-know-who!). i’ve seen susan of hawai’i’s bento box cookbook use this same set beautifully, and i thought i’d try my hand at a lion kyaraben. using susan’s technique, i cut the bread with the medium-sized onigiri case, making perfect sized sandwiches for the larger case. i used lucky sundae and pikko’s toothpick technique for cutting the lioness’ cheese muzzle; then i used manicure scissors to cut her nose, and a nori punch to cut her whisker holes and eyes/eyelashes. i added a fringe of yellow baran to simulate a mane!

filling the medium and small-sized onigiri cases i have a simple assortment of fruit and veggies: roasted butternut squash, pea pods, and grape tomatoes in the medium case, and blueberries, grapes, kiwi slices and clementine segments in the small one. i added a sunshine baran to cheer the fruit section up a bit. as props, i have a doily i received from another bento pal (aren’t my friends the best?!), and one of the pieces from this lego utensil set.

ready for another contest hint? well, i was starting to worry about what kind of bento withdrawal i will experience on vacation, and so i did a little research to see what my japanese takeaway options would be in the city i’m visiting. turns out i can get some simple sushi-based bentos to go, and they’ll run me from 990kr to 1480kr, depending on the size.

keep guessing, bento friends — i’ve so enjoyed the bento links you’ve shared, but so far nobody has guessed the correct destination!!

[as seen on i’d eat that, lego express, sticky brain, jeenious, bento box love, and lin loves]


Actions

Information

26 responses

1 02 2010
sheri

Eeek! Love it! I have the nesting set too, and I am getting lots of ideas for it!!
Fried egg rules!
kr…hm…

2 02 2010
gamene

thanks sheri! i got the fried egg idea from you… i always get jealous of misterman’s “breakfast for lunch” sandwiches🙂

2 02 2010
Susan Yuen

I’m with sheri- Eeeek! SO CUTE! I love the lions mane… you are so creative! The background paper makes it look like he’s stalking his prey in the tall grass.😀

2 02 2010
Karina

I think her little cheeks are just the cutest. I do belive I’m ready for a guess on where you will be visiting – I’ll be sending it in. I think I may have lived not to far from where you are going…can’t wait to see.

2 02 2010
gamene

thanks for your nice comments, susan and karina! susan i’m glad you noticed my attempt at “jungle”-ish paper🙂

2 02 2010
ehmeelu

Oooh, thanks for the new hint, it gives me an idea!

Here’s my latest bento: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ehmeelu/4324618058/

2 02 2010
gamene

BEAUTIFUL, inspired bento ehmeelu – i love it. keep the entries coming!

2 02 2010
notabrownbag

ITS BEAUTIFUL!! I must try out the toothpick method…must, must…

2 02 2010
Lioness Bento – Bento Central

[…] the scoop on this easy grilled cheese kyaraben over at bento zen! Share and […]

2 02 2010
Marisa

That looks so tasty and balanced. The lioness is so cute. Ok it’s official I need one of these bentos too.

2 02 2010
gamene

thanks so much, notabrownbag and marisa!

2 02 2010
Lia Chen

Really is so cute and creative works on this bento. I really admire all your works … neat and perfect! I am looking not just bento now but also the nice props😉

2 02 2010
gamene

thanks lia, you are the sweetest — and it’s mututal admiration going on here🙂

2 02 2010
Louise

Eeeeh, I’m so curious now!

p.s. I’m guessing shokupan work word wonderfully in bento!

http://adventuresofafoodslut.blogspot.com/2008/03/shokupan-japanese-white-sandwich-bread_16.html

2 02 2010
gamene

thanks for your guess louise — and i agree, shokupan would be a nice bento treat!

2 02 2010
bentobird/Jenn

I love the expression on your darling lioness! This is so inspiring and gleeful…plus I love grilled cheese and haven’t had one for ages, yum!!!

2 02 2010
Simone Levin

I love the idea of using the bento as a cutter! My eyes have been opened to a whole new set of ideas.
I think I know where you are going . . . emailing it in now.
Here’s a link to my fruit sushi, my favorite little treat to pack into a bento:
Fruit Sushi

2 02 2010
gamene

thanks jenn and simone! grilled cheese is the best, such comfort food. and more props to susan for the cutter idea — she is *full* of great ideas!

2 02 2010
Simone Levin

For my second daily entry, I’d like to share my recipe for the Naked Salad. It’s an easy weeknight dinner and also a great dish to bring to a pot-luck get together.
Chop cucumber and tomato and scrape all into a large bowl. Add cannelini, feta and hot pepper rings and toss all with romaine lettuce. No need to add dressing, that’s what makes the salad naked.
For an added punch, I sometimes grill up a Morningstar Farms Veggie Burger or Spicy Black Bean Burger, chop it up and add it to the salad. Mmmmmm.

2 02 2010
gamene

that sounds absolutely delish! i bet the bean “juice” makes the salad wet enough that the natural flavors meld. thanks so much for sharing, can’t wait to try this one!

2 02 2010
Simone Levin

The tomato juices help too. Make it a messy chop and make sure to scrape all of that goodness into the bowl.

2 02 2010
Lioness Bento Box « I'd Eat That

[…] Get more Bento box ideas here. […]

6 02 2010
Tweets that mention lioness bento « bento zen -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by enslavedbyfaeries, Melanie Hill Smith, sherimiya, Debra L, Debra L and others. Debra L said: Another clue! RT @bentozen: lioness grilled cheese and CONTEST HINT at bento zen! http://bit.ly/b6szmF […]

19 02 2011
Fab Food Friday Fotos: Spiced Roasted Potatoes, Apple Pie Tartlets, Cheesy Spinach Casserole, Lentil Barley Chili, Lioness Bento, Strange Fruit, Hazelnut Coffee Cookies, Frugal Recipes, & More « Frugal Café Blog Zone

[…] To learn how photographer/bento creator gamene made this gorgeous lioness bento, as well as other adorable bentos, check out the website bento zen! […]

8 05 2012
lioness bento | Bento Boxes

[…] find out how gamene made this lioness, and get another hint for the bento giveaway at bento zen! […]

17 01 2013
“Too Pretty To Eat” – that’s what Ben Franklin might say… | momshappyplace

[…] Photo above used from https://bentozen.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/lioness-bento/ […]

Leave a Reply

