h-mart goodies bento

16 02 2010

as i mentioned yesterday, the boyfriend and i stocked up at a huge h-mart in flushing.  this box includes my h-mart goodies:  jap chae in the top right section (topped with a yellow carrot and pea pod flower), fish jun in the bottom right section (topped by two purple potato butterflies), and spicy stewed tofu in the bottom left section (topped with a fried quail egg and scallions).  in the top left section i have dessert:  slices from a baby pear from h-mart’s fab produce section, some blueberries and a kumquat, and some two-toned, sweet korean dessert balls.  these balls are a rice-flour and sesame paste concoction labeled “muffin honey rice cake” (this is a form of dduk, which is used in both savory and sweet applications).

you may also notice that i have finally found the cool, slightly-convex four-sectioned box that some of my favorite bentoists are using these days.  i got mine at banzai living‘s flushing location.  woo hoo!


Actions

Information

22 responses

16 02 2010
sherimiya

Yay, that’s the box I have! They had it in pink too, but I hesitated on that. Love your variety, the froggie, and the butterflies! I have that cutter too! Fried quail egg on the spicy tofu sounds like perfection to me. Must have this bento…

16 02 2010
gamene

thanks sheri, ms. quick draw! i didn’t see it in pink, i probably would have grabbed it since bento boxes are crack to me and i have absolutely zero self-control.

and yup, tofu-and-egg is a no-fail combination i always fall back on when filling a box with odds and ends. yum! sending you a *virtual* bite!🙂

16 02 2010
bentobird/Jenn

Splendid! Yay, you’ve got this box–its zingy, versatile and fun–as well demonstrated by this awesome bento! There’s a great synergy going on between the green froggie and lovely purple butterflies, by the way!

17 02 2010
gamene

yay! i was so excited to find the box! i’ve really been inspired by how you have used it jenn!🙂

16 02 2010
Marisa

Everythings looks so tasty I wish I had an h-mart near me. I love the purple potato butterflies but I’ve never tasted one before so how does it taste. I also wish I could get one of those bento boxes I love it.

17 02 2010
gamene

hey marisa, the purple potatoes i can get aren’t the okinawan sweet variety, so they just taste like a plain old boring potato. i roast mine in the toaster with salt and a little bit of olive oil so that they retain their purple color but get crisp… they end up tasting like a potato chip.

16 02 2010
hapabento

Will you cook for me? Or shop for me? 🙂
Another M4SB! Awesome combo you got there especially with the purple colors. I love H-mart.

17 02 2010
Susan Yuen

Yum! I love that box, especially since it’s filled with all of that Korean food!😀 Lovely arrangement with those beautiful butterflies too.

17 02 2010
Lia Chen

Pretty purple! Delicious Korean foods … I want I want … I know it’s too late though but I satisfied enough only by looking the great picture of your bento. And now, I am ‘drooling’ for that 4 sections box too hahaha …🙂

17 02 2010
gamene

thanks for all your nice comments, debra, susan and lia! korean food (and M4SB) FTW!

17 02 2010
Louise

It looks beautiful! I wish that bento goodies were easier to buy in the UK. It looks like if you’re not in London, you don’t like bento. Boo!

17 02 2010
gamene

boo is right louise! keep your eyes on this blog because i’ll be doing another giveaway soon😉

17 02 2010
arkonite

uber cool box, I’m envious!

17 02 2010
Lexi

I so want one of these boxes, and also a circular bento. I think it’s addictive.
Love the purple decoration!

17 02 2010
gamene

thanks susan and lexi! the manufacturer of the box is inomata, maybe you can find it online? i didn’t have much luck searching, but then again that was before i knew the brand.

17 02 2010
Esther

YAY for H-mart! Now there are 3 in Flushing… I usually go to the one on Union St. They have awesome deals on Korean meals for cheap. YUM😀

My lunches taste good but look super lame compared to yours. keep on making awesome bento boxes, megan!

17 02 2010
gamene

hey esther, thanks for your nice comment! we tried to find the one on union but got a little disoriented, and so we ended up going to one of the ones on northern. it was great, though, and i stocked up on my NON-bento korean essentials too, like boricha!!!

17 02 2010
Karina

Darn it – am I now the ONLY one who doesn’t have that wonderful M4SB. Love those purple butterflies. Totally amazing!

17 02 2010
gamene

fear not karina, there will be another M4SB giveaway soon (not this one but a similar one you have seen on hapa bento’s blog frequently). thanks for your comment!

17 02 2010
Tammy/Kashmirkat

Lovely bento as always – love the butterflies! Where did you get the cutter?
Drooling over your bento again – lol

17 02 2010
gamene

hey tammy, so glad you like the butterflies! i first saw them in sherimiya’s beautiful bentos, so all credit to her for the discovery. i ended up finding the cutter through amazon and then buying from a random kitchen supplies place once i knew the brand… here’s the link:http://astore.amazon.com/bentozen-20/detail/B002AGYX28, hopefully you can use the brand info to find it elsewhere online.

13 10 2013
Jadae Fowler

Did u get this bento already made when u got it ate H-mart? and wat is H-marts selection on their already made bento boxes if so?

Leave a Reply

