post-GRE giveaway!

8 03 2010

i meant to post this a few days ago, but i think i’ve been so caught up in my own social life (after a 2-week period of having NO life) that i completely forgot about it.  anyway, WOO HOO again for me being done with this evil test!  in celebration, i wanted to do a quick giveaway.

there were four words that stumped me on my GRE: lugubrious, toothsome, disembarrass, and desultory.  i don’t want to ever forget the meanings of those words again!  the rules for this contest are simple:  in the comments, make up a sentence (or two) using those words in relation to bento.  be creative — there are no right or wrong sentences, as long as the actual meaning of the word is being used correctly.  only one entry per day, you can’t repeat your previous entries, and i’ll take entries through this sunday night, march 14, at 11:59PM EST.

now onto the prizes!  here’s what the prize package contains:

  • a highly-coveted MS4B!!  i know that hapa bento’s contests are always eagerly-anticipated, not only because they are fun and creative (and because her site is consistently fantastic), but because this box is so great and somewhat hard to find.  well, i finally found one, and i grabbed an extra so that debra wouldn’t have to bear the sole responsibility of distributing these amongst our bento community!  (by the way, yours will come in the packaging; i photographed mine to reduce the glare from the plastic wrapping.)
  • another highly-coveted item, one of the hand-crafted double cutters!  this one is in the shape of a pretty flower with a stem.
  • a package of cute animal mayo cups (the faces and arms fold over the top so the mayo stays put).
  • a package of cute animal soy sauce bottles.
  • a package of cute animal baran.
  • a box of regular green “grass” baran.
  • one of the “paper shapers” punches, in a pretty flower shape.
  • a package of yummy strawberry-flavored panda biscuits!  i used the chocolate variety in a recent panda bento and can attest to their deliciousness.
  • the always-useful and fun multi-pick package, containing rings, bones, umbrella handles, flower stems, and balloon strings.  i received my own set of these from a bento pal once and often daydream about neat ways of using them — they can be anything from christmas ornament “hooks,” to reindeer antlers, to cute tiger cub tails!  so now i’m giving away another set; they really are very handy and versatile.
  • ten colorful “veggie” fork-style food picks, and four colorful “clown” picks (i can’t find the exact same clowns online, but the ones i’m giving away look a lot like these).  these are not in the packaging because they are from my personal stash, but they have never been used, are from a clean and smoke-free home, and will be tucked safely in a fresh zip-loc bag.  if you aren’t comfortable receiving something that’s not professionally packaged, just let me know and i won’t include these — i just thought they were fun.

that’s it — this should be a nice assortment for a beginner bento-er, or it might include some of the things a veteran bento-maker has been searching out for her collection.  good luck to everyone, and i can’t wait to read your GRE vocabulary sentences!

oh, and if you like what you see here but don’t want to enter the contest, check out napa japan — i have really been enjoying their extensive japanese candy selection (as well as their currently-expanding bento accessories selection), and a lot of the items i’m giving away are from my last box from that site.


Actions

Information

71 responses

8 03 2010
sheri

#1

Yay, first!!!

On those dreary mornings when I am feeling lugubrious like the weather, I try to avoid making a bento in my desultory state, worried that I might create a haphazard concoction of thrown-together items; I yearn for a toothsome bento creation to disembarrass me — like the ones I always see at bentozen!
😀

8 03 2010
Laura

#2

My desultory thoughts were unhelpful in helping me disembarrass the lugubrious but still toothsome young man.

8 03 2010
Simone Levin

#3

My winter fruit and veggie choices are leaving me with a lugubrious bento, lacking in color and cheer, thrown together in a desultory fashion. When I disembarrass myself from the dismal apples and soft bananas and the plump berries start hitting the stands again, I know I’ll produce some toothsome results.

8 03 2010
eula

#4

WOW, what a great package!

My desultory bentos make me lugubrious and I hope this prize will disembarrass me from making toothsome lunches!

8 03 2010
hapabento

#5

The upcoming season will surely disembarrassing me from current desultory bento attempts and spring’s bounty will provide a change from a lugubrious menu to a more toothsome fare.

8 03 2010
Pam

#6

As desultory as my bento attempts are, their toothsome goodness is enough to disembarrass me from my lugubrious mood.

8 03 2010
Allie

#7

WARNING: the following sentences may be desultory.
One early morning, I felt lugubrious as I trudged into the kitchen to make a bento as lovely as one from the ever-toothsome bento zen. Hopefully the flattery will disembarrass me from any complications.🙂

8 03 2010
Tami

#8

All it takes is a picture of a toothsome bento to change my lugubrious expression and lift me from my desultory state – moving me forward on a plan for tomorrow’s lunch and the ability to disembarrass myself from my lack of imagination.

9 03 2010
mils

#9

i need to disembarrass myself from my current production of desultory bento day after day..hopefully the new season’s crops will inspire me to come out with a more toothsome offer!

9 03 2010
ktycat

#10

Because of my lugubrious English, I am making a desultory comment while staring at your toothsome-looking bentos that will never disembarass me.

9 03 2010
Tata Bonita

#11

Once upon a time, Tata’s eating wonderland was so boring and desultory. But then, she was glad that finally a kind little bento fairy disembarrassed her lugubrious eating wonderland with toothsome idyllic bentos.
😀

9 03 2010
aileth

#12

These last lubugrious days turned my once regular cooking into a desultory one; not even toothsome takoyaki disembarrass my sulkiness.

9 03 2010
Jessica

#13

Tired of the lugubrious state of my Peanut Butter and Jelly lunches, I began to pack myself bento boxes, disembarrassing my mother from the loathsome task. The result was, at first, a desultory mess, but after a bit of practice I was able to produce something that was more than edible, and often toothsome, much to the chagrin of my mother.

9 03 2010
Emptying the refrigerator « Cooking for Fun

[…] I almost forgot. If you’re looking for bento giveaways check Adventures in Bento making and Bento zen […]

9 03 2010
Esther

#14

This is quite a toothsome offer! If I win, I will be more than happy to fill these bentos with desultory goodies!🙂

9 03 2010
Angelene

#15

Having a not so toothsome bento breakfast made me felt so lugubrious this morning, but after reading this fabulous giveaway post, i quickly disembarass myself from work and flee home to tell my bento mates about this good news in a desultory speech!

9 03 2010
dosirakbites

#16

After a bad streak of desultory lunches, lunch time became lugubrious. Seeking to disembarass myself from bland, uninspired meals, I sought out new recipes of toothsome bento meals to spark my creativity.

9 03 2010
Sarrow

#17

On lugubrious mornings that are cold and rainy, a brightly colored toothsome bento always cheers me up! However, if I’m feeling extremely creative, I pack a cute, colorful lunch for my honey forgetting to disembarrass him from his co-workers jeers. Though most mornings I am desultory, and throw our leftovers into his bento just to appease him.

9 03 2010
Sara

#18

After a lugubrious snowy week of desultory bentos, I sought out the creative toothsome bentos on bentozen! They inspire me to make a crafty, colorful and healthy lunch that will not disembarrass me at work!

9 03 2010
Lily

#19

The lugubrious young lad who was talking in a desultory fashion, insisted me to pass him my toothsome bento lunch box eventhough I have tried hard to disembarass myself from his sight!

9 03 2010
Alicia

#20

My bentos are somewhat desultory; leaving me feeling lugubrious. This fabulous Magic 4 Squared Box would surely help to disembarrass me and I know would be filled with many toothsome lunches.

9 03 2010
Nicole O.

#21

The mornings I wake up late and my desultoriness prevents me from making a yummy, toothsome bento, I’m put into a lugubrious mood at lunch time. A delicious dinner disembarrasses the heavy mood and all is right again🙂

9 03 2010
bentobird/Jenn

#22

Spring is coming to disembarass us from the desultory hold of late winter, inspire toothsome bentos of fresh greens…and make all lugubrious thoughts vanish!

9 03 2010
eula

#23

I would like to disembarrass you of that desultory bunch of prizes so I can make a toothsome bento celebrating the non-lugubrious weather in NYC.

10 03 2010
louise

#24

I would like to disembarrass myself from lugubrious lunches, all splayed out in a desultory order – so your toothsome selection of delicious accessories would put some order back in my life!

As ever you have a fantastic eye for yummy-looking bento supplies!

10 03 2010
mils

#25

I think i’ve disembarrass myself today with a toothsome bento of zaru soba – could do with a pretty clown pick though!
😀

10 03 2010
Maryann

#26

The long lugubrious winter months have led me to desultory eating and weight gain. Finding bentozen and implementing the use of bento will deismebarrass me from bad habits and provide toothsome meals.

10 03 2010
Maryann

Sorry for the misspelled word disembarrass. My desultory typing didn’t follow my thoughts.

10 03 2010
Lily

#27

Mum is in her lugubrious mood, that’s why we’re all now deprived from toothsome bento meals, She needs to disembarass herself from the hectic work and stop all her desultory thoughts regarding her colleagues!

10 03 2010
Adelene

#28

Toothsome bento sets are what i look forward to during lunch time due to my lugubrious environment in the office! I need to disembarass myself from here as soon as possible so that I can put a stop to my desultory thoughts of tackling a cute guy:P

10 03 2010
Gary

#29

Am sick of this lugubrious winter season which intensely occupied my mind with desultory, random thoughts. I seriously in need to disembarass myself from here and get my bum up to prepare some toothsome bento for myself to cheer myself up!!

10 03 2010
Angelene

#30

As I try to disembarass myself from the chores, i came across some toothsome bento recipe online which subsequently contribute more to my desultory ideas of filling my bento box with marmite based food to put a smile on my face after a stretch of unfortunate, lugubrious events at home:(

10 03 2010
eula

#31

My bento stash is kept in such a desultory manner that I am lugubrious. I should disembarrass myself by organizing it, instead, I distract myself with the toothsome bentos on bento zen’s blog!

10 03 2010
ehmeelu

#32

The undertaker disembarrassed himself of the lingering mourners and slipped into his office. Taking out his lunch bag, he dared to hope for a toothsome and colourful bento, but his lugubrious countenance fell even further when he found only a desultory Spam sandwich.

11 03 2010
Rachel

#33

At lunch I disembarrassed myself from my pitiful stale sandwhich and went home to fix myself a toothsome bento instead. Much to my dismay, a desultory band of mourners was blocking the road; their lugubrious faces killing any appetite I once had.

11 03 2010
mils

#34

i made some toothsome homemade furikake yesterday to perk up the desultory state of my bento. It perks up the sometimes lugubrious state of plain white rice onigris.

11 03 2010
Jay

#35

A toothsome lunch made by my girfriend always makes me feel good. However, I wish she would disembarrass me, and keep the cute animals and flowers to a minimum when I go to work. Though desultory, I could easily throw my own lunch together, sans cute stuff. And when a lugubrious day occurs, I’d rather just eat out.

11 03 2010
Elissa

#36

After desultorily attempting a toothsome bento I finally woke up and was disembarrased from this desultory dream.

11 03 2010
dosirakbites

#37

No longer content with my desultory bento, I painstakingly crafted a toothsome bento meal fit for bento zen herself. Now disembarassed and looking forward to a delicious lunch, I became lugubrious as I witnessed my dog reaching up onto the kitchen counter enjoying my meal.

11 03 2010
Elissa

Oops! I meant to put the word lugubrious before dream. It should have read:

After desultorily attempting a toothsome bento I finally woke up and was disembarrased from this lugubrious dream.

Can I claim “mom brain” or rather, just plain “Elissa brain” on my first response?

11 03 2010
gamene

yup, you get a “mom brain”-related pass!😉

11 03 2010
Angelene

#38

My recent lugubrious mood has led me to talk in such a desultory fashion that my friends around me are disembarassing themselves from me eventhough I offered to prepared them toothsome bento for dinner!!

11 03 2010
Lily

#39

Janet’s lugubrious moments has led her to disembarass herself from the ‘ laid back’gang and started to indulge herself in desultory ideas of making toothsome, pretty bentos!

11 03 2010
Gary

#40

Walking aimlessly in the street with some desultory bento designs thoughts has lifted my lugubrious mood a bit and disembarass myself from the heavy traffic to get home faster for some toothsome home cooked meals.

12 03 2010
eula

#41

I made a toothsome dish today but in my desultory life, I am lugubrious because I forgot to pack a bento for work tomorrow. Disembarrass me from my forgetfulness by sending me a new bento box to play with! Haha.

12 03 2010
Sarrow

#42

I made a toothsome bento today and wanted to eat it outside, but I was put into a lugubrious mood when it started to rain on my lunch break. Desultory as I was, I was disembarrassed of eating alone when my friend asked me to join her for lunch in the library cafe.

12 03 2010
mils

#43

the desultory weather is putting me in a lugubrious mood…however, that soon change come lunchtime with I pop open my toothsome bento! I had disembarrassed myself by putting more effort into packing my lunch!

12 03 2010
Angelene

#44

The meeting was awfully lugubrious and thus I disembarass myself with desultory excuses and zoom to the kitchen immediately to eat my toothsome bento I made early morning:))

12 03 2010
jempress

#45

Little 5-year-old Lala dragged her feet lugubriously down the hallway into her new school’s cafeteria as she anticipated the desultory and friendless environment. She sat down at an empty table and slowly opened the toothsome bento lunch her mom lovingly created for her, as the “oooh’s” and “aaahh’s” of little admirers immediately surrounded her. Lala would forever remember her first day of kindergarten as the day her bento disembarrassed her during lunchtime.

12 03 2010
Gary

#46

My lil niece is mumbling in a desultory mode, trying to console her mum to disembarass her from the lugubrious ‘old woman’ parties, so that she can join her school mates to attend a bento-making course which teach them how to make toothsome bento.

12 03 2010
Limmie

#47

Attempted to make some toothsome bento to surprise the boyfriend but unfortunately my terrible cooking skills made things worst and thus put me in a lugubrious mood and since I want to disembarass myself from this incident, I’ve been trying to discuss some desultory topics with him:P

12 03 2010
Lily

#48

Lucy is trying hard to disembarass herself from the hectic ward, yearning to go out to get some fresh air and have her toothsome bento she made, but all a sudden, desultory thoughts empower her whole mind and thus leaving her in a lugubrious moment of silent…

12 03 2010
aparna

#49

I wish the cold months would end in Michigan so I’m not left with a lugubrious-looking bento. Living in an area where farmers markets thrive make for many toothsome dishes! But I know the warmer months will disembarrass my desultory thoughts and I can look forward to color, freshness and flavor!

12 03 2010
Kath

#50

I always feel lugubrious when browsing culinary blogs since it always makes me wish that I had just one ounce of their skills to produce one toothsome meal. Hopefully, if I practice and do not succumb to desultory practices I will not be as disembarass to share my culinary efforts with others.

I’m still in the process of learning how to cook and bake but once I reach a decent skill level hopefully I can transition my efforts in creating adorable/organized bentos. Good luck everyone!

13 03 2010
Kim

#51

I packed an extrememly toothsome bento for lunch today. But I felt extrememly lugubriuous after my bento fell on the floor and spilled everywhere. My husband tried to disembarrass me by cleaning it up and packing my a new one. However, the new one was packed in a desultory fashion and was not as enjoyable as the one I packed.

13 03 2010
MrsDeepsea

#52

In a lugubrious mood I ate the toothsome bento I made for my boyfriend earlier. Because he suddenly came into the kitchen while I was eating I put the bento – feeling desultory – back in the fridge to disembrass.

13 03 2010
Lynnie:)

#53

OH this should be fun:)—-

I was walking in a spring wonderland one day,and I saw a lugubrious mushroom.My desultory thoughts wandered in search for a solution to his lugubriousness.So I decided to make him a toothsome bento!And to disembarrass him,I left it by his side without confronting him.I hope he feels better:)

LOL.I sound crazy don’t I?
Your bento materials are so awesome and cute~:)

13 03 2010
Lily

#54

Leo disembarassed himself from the lugubrious funeral after his uncle gave a desultory speech about a toothsome bento meal the deceased made for him on his birthday when he was alive..

13 03 2010
Angelene

#55

Desultory memories of my ex-boyfriend are haunting me from and put me in such lugubrious mood that I couldn’t concentrate in making toothsome bento for my lunch breaks!!!! I need to disembarass myself from this flat that we used to spend time together!!

13 03 2010
Jessica

#56

I can’t believe that Jason just gave some desultory comments about the Japanese girl’s bento which I thought was a toothesome bento meal, and I believe the Jap gurl felt lugubrious and thus disembarassed herself from the crowd immediately…

13 03 2010
Gary

#57

Though it’s sunny outside, I felt lugubrious today and thus didnt manage to make any toothsome bento for myself for lunch. Desultory thoughts of what excuses I should give to disembarass myself from this boring AGM meeting are flooding my mind now:P

13 03 2010
Adelene

#58

A man was promoting some toothsome bento boxes in a desultory fashion at the street, but this has made more people to disembarass themselves from him and made him felt so lugubrious.

13 03 2010
eula

#59

I was tutoring and my desultory students actually had to learn the word “lugubrious” today! Afterwards, I was disembarrassed from teaching them and had a toothsome bento.

14 03 2010
Louise

#60

I’m sad that I’m stuck having desultory lunches, because the Uk seems the think that bento is lugubrious and tends to disembarrass itself from bento altogether – help me to make toothsome lunches please!!🙂

14 03 2010
Adelene

#61

I couldn’t stand the lugubrious atmosphere of the restaurant anymore, and thus I disembarrased myself from the table and gave some desultory excuses to run off to the Jap shop next door that sells cheap, toothsome bento sets:))

14 03 2010
Lily

#62

Our holiday to Tokyo was a lugubrious one because we had such a desultory itinery. Except for the day when we managed to disembarass ourselves from the tour group and bought a toothsome bento set by the roadside was GREAT though:)

14 03 2010
Gary

#63

Sometimes I wish I can just wish upon the star, for a toothsome bentoset everyday, for not having any lugubrious day in my life, for lovely desultory notes of love from randome people, and finally being able to disembarass myself from current position in office and take off weeks to travel around the world!!!

14 03 2010
Angelene

#64

It’s the last day of the contest and I would be lugubrious if I dont win this toothsome bento giveaway because I have been disembarassing myself from proper work and trying very hard to come out with some desultory sentences everyday using the GRE words:)

14 03 2010
Limmie

#65

Lugubrious mood is the culprit for my current desultory speech which forces me for a need to disembarass myself from the congregational meeting and head towards the town to get myself a toothsome bento set lunch and feed my hungry soul!

14 03 2010
eula

#66

Today I was disembarrassed from work and got to spend time with friends at toothsome restaurants. Afterwards, we walked around town in a desultory manner, which was lugubrious because it was raining constantly.

14 03 2010
Mi Sook

#67

Feeling lugubrious since arguing with my boyfriend yesterday, I hope to disembarass myself for overreacting. He’s been eating desultory meals so perhaps preparing him a toothsome bento will be the perfect peace offering.

Ah, the longer you wait to apologize the harder it gets to make up.😦

Leave a Reply

