squirrel sandwich bento

25 04 2010

sunday nights are always lazy, and tonight i’m watching the giants-cardinals game… so, just a quick sandwich bento for tomorrow’s lunch.

my sandwich is a vegetarian “chick-n” patty (spicy flavor!) on sourdough with mustard, baby spinach leaves, avocado, and cheese.  i wrapped it with brown wax paper and washi tape, and topped it with a squirrel cut from white bread.

the remaining space in the bento has a paper food cup filled with thai-style soy ginger carrot salad (a tasty frozen item from trader joe’s; it’s great for my bento stash because it adds a pop of bright color and requires zero prep) and a vine-ripe tomato with a squirrel pick from this cute set, plus a few clementine slices.

hope everyone had a sunny, fun, and restful weekend!


Actions

Information

24 responses

25 04 2010
sheri

Don’t talk to me about lazy Sundays! I can’t remember the last time I made the Sunday bento interesting enough to take a pic of. Your sandwich bento sounds perfect for such a day. Just cute enough with the squirrel cutout and matching pick, and fresh & easy colorful sides! Love the bubbly paper too🙂

25 04 2010
gamene

thanks sheri! this one came together pretty easily, thank goodness — i’ve had my fair share of sundays with takeout thrown in a tupperware for the next day’s lunch too! hope you and the fam are winding down after a good couple days (looks like misterman in particular had tons of fun)!

25 04 2010
Lyndsey

I was wondering, I thought oh my, they make bentos on Sunday too?! Haha! I did make one yesterday and I’ll post it tomorrow. My daughter ate it (I think that’s the only way she a 15y/o is going to eat it, at home). I do make little bento fruit snack bowls for her lunch, and I keep threatening to cut out cute animals for her.😀 I think I’ll have her come around soon. I’m not giving up. My husbands likes his!

I love the squirrel bread and pick! Cute!

25 04 2010
gamene

thanks for stopping by and sharing your bento experience lyndsey! if i were making bento for a 15 year old girl, i think i would aim for “chic” or “stylish” looks, rather than “cute” — maybe elegant flowers, or vintage-themed papers and picks. can’t wait to see what you’ve done!

26 04 2010
Lyndsey

Thanks vintage themed is a good idea. I was just teasing her about the “cute” cutouts. I did use flowers and she is fine with that. She just puts up with me now with my “bento” obsession😀

25 04 2010
Jenn

Looks delicious, you cannot tell it is from a lazy day at all😀 I love the squirrel!

25 04 2010
gamene

thanks for your sweet comment jenn!🙂

25 04 2010
Bentobird/Jenn

Great squirrel synergy going on here! Adorable sammie decoration and the sweet pink pick are so cute. Also love the inventive use of pretty washi tape and wax paper to wrap your lunch in style…as usual, your newest bento creation is great, nifty fun!

25 04 2010
gamene

thanks jenn, and i love the word nifty (what a great compliment)!

25 04 2010
hypothermya

I love what you did with the sandwich ribbon — it looks great!🙂

25 04 2010
gamene

thanks christie, it was very easy to do, the washi tape is so handy!

26 04 2010
Ingrid

I’m checking up on everything I missed these last 2 weeks, so expect many comments in the next minutes🙂

I love the bread squirrel and how you echoed it in the food pick. Very cute sandwich bento … goes to proof that yummy and pretty doesn’t always have to mean time-consuming. Nice one (and I hope the team you were cheering for won the game🙂 )

26 04 2010
gamene

thanks ingrid! my team lost, but it’s ok, baseball is a loooong season so we have plenty of chances to redeem ourselves!

26 04 2010
Lia Chen

Love how you wrapped the sandwich together! You present it nicely … sandwiches are great in bento box🙂

26 04 2010
gamene

thanks lia! another use for handy washi tape, love it! hope your monday (and move) are going smoothly🙂

26 04 2010
sushi stu

Poor squirrel! I’ve never tasted squirrel in a sandwich before!!!🙂 ha ha

26 04 2010
gamene

haha stu… thank goodness this one’s not roadkill!

26 04 2010
sushi stu

thank heavens for that, I know you like to be experimental with your bento!

26 04 2010
Susan Yuen

Beautiful sandwich bento!!! It fits perfectly into the container and I love the squirrel and the cute matching pick!🙂

26 04 2010
gamene

thanks susan! guess what just came in today’s mail — 2nd course! it’s awesome, i have like 5 new faves already, including “paige musubi,” one of the cutest things i’ve ever seen!

30 04 2010
Squirrel Sandwich Bento – Bento Central

[…] sandwich is accented by a cute squirrel cut-out… more info on Gamene’s lunch at bento zen. Share and […]

9 05 2010
Cindy

Great points! I will be checking back here often!

8 12 2011
top mistakes

Your site is pretty cool to me and your topics are very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of blog owners are committing these five errors”. http://tinyurl.com/d8r7ejo You will be suprised how easy they are to fix.

8 06 2012
squirrel sandwich bento | Bento Boxes

[…] more info on this quick sandwich bento, at bento zen… […]

Leave a Reply

