fried chicken sushi bento

10 06 2010

“fried chicken sushi”… that sounds weird, right?  well, i had leftover chicken, and i thought it might be nice to have a sushi roll in my bento, since that’s pretty rare for me (due to the fact that i don’t trust raw fish to keep fresh in the box at variable temperatures).  this maki includes vinegared rice, butter lettuce, thin slices of red onion, thin strips of jalapeno, and lime zest grated over the chicken just before rolling.  i think the combination is fantastic — try it and let me know if you agree!

the rest of my box contains quick-pickled cucumber slices (in a squished paper food cup), a puffy tomato “heart,” two tamogyaki slices, two steamed brussels sprout halves and a steamed broccoli floret, three carved carrot flowers, and a few pea pods.  i propped a juicy-ripe strawberry up in the background before popping it in my mouth!


Actions

Information

41 responses

10 06 2010
Amaaris

That´s insane…but delicious. I´l try it next time I have chicken sticks here;)

10 06 2010
gamene

ooh, cool! let me know if you like it🙂

10 06 2010
Bentobird/Jenn

lime zest, jalepeno, butter lettuce, fried chicken…megan this sounds like a wizardly combo of flavors and textures! you are becoming a creative sushi magician🙂 bright veggies are a delight, too, arranged with artistic care. love the plump strawberry!

10 06 2010
gamene

omg jenn that strawberry was SO good, yay for summertime fruits!! and i don’t know about wizardly (haha), but it WAS a pretty yummy combo, i must admit😉

10 06 2010
sheri

That strawb has serious bedhead, hehe!
Looks and sounds deLISH! Always love the puffy heart, and the carved carrots add elegance. Super nice!

10 06 2010
gamene

thanks sheri, that strawberry looks like me in the morning, good call!

10 06 2010
Debra

Delightful bento! Chicken and rice is always nice! I like your idea to use butter lettuce.

10 06 2010
gamene

thanks debra!😀 i had a ton of butter lettuce left over from a BBQ so i thought it couldn’t hurt to throw it in… it’s pretty creamy for lettuce and doesn’t wilt too easily, so it worked well!

10 06 2010
Michele

I really need to learn your knife skills, those carrots are awesome.

10 06 2010
gamene

thanks michele! the carrots are so easy (but look like they take more work than they really do!), just follow the tutorial instructions (i posted the tutorial a few weeks ago).

10 06 2010
applerabbit

Oooooh, this may be sushi I can get my mother to eat! I just can’t convert her to the tastiness, but she looooooves fried chicken so this may just work!

10 06 2010
gamene

cool! hope she likes it, and thanks for your comment!🙂

10 06 2010
Jenn

Doesn’t sound weird at all! It sounds amazingly delicious!! What a fun way to make sushi😀

10 06 2010
gamene

thanks jenn!😀

10 06 2010
Lyndsey

What a great idea! It’s looks like a Tampa roll, but with chicken instead of white fish! My daughter would love it in her bento. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that!😀 I love your puffed heart tomato. I can’t wait until I can stuff a box like you can!! Everything is beautiful!

10 06 2010
gamene

thanks so much lyndsey, i hope you try it and your daughter loves it!

10 06 2010
mommyof2girlz

Wow that looks so yummy, and love how you made the carrot flowers like that..so cool!

10 06 2010
gamene

thanks steph, it IS a yummy combo… hope you try it😀

10 06 2010
hypothermya

Looks delicious, fresh, and colorful! 🙂 Another beautiful bento.

11 06 2010
gamene

thanks christie! even tastier with matching chopsticks, right?!😉

11 06 2010
Gali

Those sushis sure do look interesting🙂

11 06 2010
gamene

thanks gali! interesting and a little weird, but definitely good, to me.😀

11 06 2010
Chiara

Oh I love your site and I love Bento too!!!

11 06 2010
gamene

thanks so much chiara!! ♥

11 06 2010
Pipaw

I love this tomato heart!

11 06 2010
gamene

thanks pipaw, super easy to do, just find two that are close to the same size, cut them on an angle, and stick them together — the juice and seeds in mine acted like glue and i didn’t even have to “pin” it with a food pick (though i have used a food pick sometimes too).

11 06 2010
tatabonita

This bento has made my tummy “sings” desperately, hungry………………… I love love love the photo Megan, sooo sharp and bright😀. Oya, thanks a lot for your tutorials on how to make quail egg flower, I just ordered the metal cutter hehehe😀. Your bentos from yum yum bento book are also amazing, ah I envy you for that book hehehe😀. I wanna give a go to make the walruses ohoho….

11 06 2010
gamene

uh oh ta, didn’t mean to make you hungry, sorry about that… i guess you’ll just have to go make another cute bento! can’t wait to see it!😀

11 06 2010
writnick

Hello,

I recently started my bento adventure as part of my voyage to change some things about myself. So I did quite some research about it. I read that sushi is probably not the best dish to put in a Bento, because it is raw fish. While it is perfectly safe normally; it told me the health risks increase in a bento box due to enviromental effects. Of course, I am not an expert and I can be wrong, perhaps you have a different opinion/experience and I would be glad to hear it! (Always up for new insights about this wonderful adventure I started)

Having said that, I am jealous. You are clearly a skilled cook and a master with the knives. I hope, one day, to become as skilled a cook as you are!

Nick

11 06 2010
gamene

hey nick, thanks for stopping by and for the information you are sharing i agree that raw fish, while normally safe to eat, can be exposed to too much temperature flux (and to bacteria) in a bento box setting — that’s why i did this fried chicken sushi, the chicken is already cooked so it’s perfectly safe. it may be worth a try (with or without the other weird ingredients) if you are still experimenting with what you like and what you feel comfortable taking in your box!

11 06 2010
Susan Yuen

Fried chicken happens to be one of my favorite foods! Yummy maki and such a pretty bento!🙂

12 06 2010
gamene

what’s not to like about fried chicken, right? the best! thanks for your comment susan, always appreciated!🙂

14 06 2010
Fried Chicken Sushi Bento – Bento Central

[…] the scoop on this unusual but delicious flavor combination, at bento zen! Share and […]

19 06 2010
SushiTail

If someone made me a bento like this, I would marry that person… Oops! I’m already married.

21 06 2010
gamene

thanks sushitail, haha! hope your spouse makes you something yummy🙂

3 02 2011
bento anyone? « The Someday Blog

[…] Fried chicken sushi rolls…I’m in. […]

19 05 2011
Cool Fried Chicken images | Rural Recipes

[…] fried chicken sushi bento Image by gamene find out more, at bento zen! […]

30 06 2011
Best Baby Carrier

Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for information about this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I have discovered till now. However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you positive about the supply?

2 05 2013
brotherhoodofthecrossandstar.Org

The Japanese artistry is plainly noticeable in all kinds of knives in the
shun line. Uramaki is similar to maki, however, rice is placed on top of the nori instead of inside.
Meat: Sashimi-Grade fish (fish that has been frozen at under -4 F for to
kill any parasites) shellfish tofu or eggs.

2 05 2013
Katherin

He said the man was a genius who could not write but hired Rose to fill the holes in his script.
We had a fun, lively chef who made sure to do all of the tricks you would expect-fancy
knife and utensil tricks, spinning and moving them all over
the table. A server will assist you by serving you all of your food
in a timely manner.

13 12 2015
radio broadcasting

magnificent put up, very informative. I’m wondering why the
other experts of this sector do not realize this.
You should continue your writing. I am confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

