totoro onigiri bento

13 04 2011

have you seen anna the red’s cool tutorial on inarizushi totoro-making?  she’s full of awesome ideas, and this one might take the cake.  i have never done a totoro before, and even though i didn’t have inari on hand, i was inspired to try my hand at our favorite neighbor.

my totoro is simplified — no arms, lower body, or whiskers.  but hopefully i’ve captured his essence, including his cheshire-like grin and slightly bugged-out eyes.  i mixed rice with ground black sesame to make the grey color of his coat, and added punched nori Vs from my emoticon puncher for his stomach markings.  the white part of his body is stuffed with a vegetarian meatball, left over from yesterday’s lunch.

the rest of tomorrow’s bento has steamed broccoli with fish sausage stars, tamagoyaki rolled with nori and topped with carrot stars, steamed brussels sprout halves, a few pieces of golden-fried tofu, and a nice vine tomato.  a tangerine for dessert, and i’m all set!


Actions

Information

37 responses

13 04 2011
sheri

Yes, I saw that! Love her tutorials. She’s the master. Yours is super cute! He’s so happy, which is nice😀
I love all the little stars too, and the beautiful tamago spirals…

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks sheri! the tamago spirals are new for me, thanks for noticing!🙂

13 04 2011
oen_priyanto

your totoro looks so cute. and when i see his tooth it makes me smile…. LOL ^,^

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks oen! haha, i love his big-teeth smile too!

13 04 2011
Susan Yuen

Eeep, Totoro is too cute! Great bento Megan!

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks susan! always so nice when you stop by🙂

13 04 2011
Debra

You totoro looks terrific! Nice job. Beautiful stars and tamago.

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks debra! the stars were cut with a tiny aspic cutter, a new bento tool find🙂

13 04 2011
bobo

Cute Totoro..🙂 Totoro always makes me smile.
yea, I saw her tutorial on the Inarizushi Totoro, awesome idea.. i love to read her blog too..
me too, is a Ghibli Collection fans,have you watched My Neighbour Totoro?
Its a classic.

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks bobo! i didn’t know totoro growing up, only fell in love with him since i got into bento…

14 04 2011
Cooking Gallery

Love Totoro’s expression! I knew it right away that it’s Totoro even before reading the post title🙂. You’ve done a real fabulous job!

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks cooking gallery!! thankfully for me, totoro’s facial features are pretty simple😀

14 04 2011
Chiara

I love your blog and I love bento! This is so cute and so perfect!! Visit my blog, it’s in italian but I have a translator, and as soon as possible I’ll translate it! http://ilpomodorosso.blogspot.com/

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks for visiting chiara! i speak just a tiny bit of italian (lived in rome for 5 months), just enough to get the jist of your lovely blog… such beautiful photography, and the meatballs look mouthwatering!

14 04 2011
mils

Such a cutiepoo! I love the grin…looks so happy and cheerful. Not to mention delicious…not sure if I want to pinch it or eat it…

14 04 2011
gamene

definitely eat (over pinch), tee hee! the ground sesame is actually *really* tasty!

14 04 2011
Emily Ng

Aww…another super cute and delicious bento. 🙂

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks emily!😀

14 04 2011
Ohayo Bento

I love Totoro! I think you captured his essence perfectly. The stars and the swirly tamagoyaki complete the scene. Awesome!

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks heather, that’s a huge compliment for my first try at totoro!

14 04 2011
Gnoe

Heh, I immediately recognized our neighbour Totoro! Even though I’ve never seen him on film, I love him anyway.😉 Awesome bento again — I definitely need to go make myself some lunch now!

14 04 2011
gamene

i’m with you, i have never seen the animations — but who could resist this cute face?!

14 04 2011
Bentobird/Jenn

Great Totoro bento, given a lovely gamene spin with an abundant garden of veggies, cozy prop styling and zingy little stars! I’ll bet this was a very fun lunch to eat!

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks jenn! still haven’t eaten it yet, but it was totally fun to make🙂

14 04 2011
karaimame

AnnaTheRed is amazing… she has an astonishing creativity.
But Megan, your Totoro is perfect! Loved him to the pieces I could EAT HIM all (ahahaha)

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks lil! i agree, anna is awesome… but glad you like my totoro too🙂

14 04 2011
Xelia

I like the grin!! N ur egg rolls look amazingly delicious!!😉

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks xelia! my hub says the egg roll was tasty, he got to eat the sloppy ends that i trimmed off. i still haven’t eaten this lunch yet though!

14 04 2011
lil'tummyYummies

Love love love love all your bentos!! I’m just waiting for my boy to grow more teeth (he has only 8 now) so I can do something like this for him. LOL Grow Teeth Grow!

14 04 2011
gamene

thanks shawna! haha, hope your boy’s teeth grow soon, but you can make them for yourself too in the meantime (that’s what i do)!

15 04 2011
Allison

The totora is so cute.. I cant bear to eat it.🙂

15 04 2011
gamene

thanks allison! sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but he’s all gone! ;D

25 08 2011
betronica

Love the totoro! Your blog is awesome, I’m going to subscribe. I’m fairly new to blogging and have a vegetarian cooking blog. It’s called Vegeteria and I would love for you to check it out! Keep up the amazing work!

27 10 2011
Kawaii Aly♥

big smile!
^ ______ ^

27 10 2011
Totoro bento « Kawaii stuff

[…] bento zen Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

29 12 2011
Sushi PRO Top Ten Bento Artists for 2011 |   

[…] @bentozen – bentozen.wordpress.com We’re in awe of this level of maki making, let alone building a shikai maki bento masterpiece around it. We also loved this onigiri bento. […]

28 06 2012
totoro onigiri bento | Bento Boxes

[…] details at bento zen! […]

Leave a Reply

