flying rilakkuma bento

18 04 2011

tomorrow’s bread-free lunch is my take on soboro, mexican-style: a layer of spanish rice (cooked in my rice cooker with peas and corn), a layer of monterey jack cheese, and a layer of vegetarian ground beef sauteed with cumin.  plus a bunch of fresh fruits and veggies — cuke, yellow and red vine tomatoes, steamed broccoli, pea pods, a big fat strawberry, and a few tangerine sections.

the star of this lunch is rilakkuma, cut with an exacto knife from two colors of egg sheet.  i recently bought a package of onigiri cases with rilakkuma on them, and the package had two funny/cute rilakkuma designs:  in one he is flying with cooking utensils in his hands (this is what i reproduced for my bento, without the utensils), and in another he is totally relaxing (per his name!), with one arm leisurely propping up his head.

just a reminder: the fabulous play bento set — consisting of adorable, hand-crafted fabric food items traditionally found in a bento box — is still up for grabs on ebay.  the bento4japan charity auctions are winding down, but this item is like a grand finale!


Actions

Information

18 responses

18 04 2011
sheri

Ahaha! Love the Rilakkuma megan! My first thought was that he was running out of the fruit garden with his goodies, tripped and went splat into the dirt. It would have been funny to see a splattered tomato outside the box. Okay, it’s my Monday sense of naughty humor. Nonetheless I do love this bento! The diagonal division, the colorful variety next to the rich-looking soboro, and the nice yellow contrast with the bear. Wonderful🙂

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks sheri! it TOTALLY looks like dirt, now i wish i had thought of the squashed tomato. oh well, next time — thanks for the funny-cute idea!

18 04 2011
Susan Yuen

Mexican soboro- Megan what a great idea! Rilakkuma is absolutely adorable too.🙂

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks susan! to me it was a natural use for the ground meat… when i think ground meat and rice, i think taco flavors!

18 04 2011
Lina

Owh sooo cute!!! I love the Rilakkuma, and I might steal your flag picks idea, I love the way you tied it, brilliant!! thanks for sharing.

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks lina! the twist-tie-flag didn’t originate here, steal away, such an easy and cute addition to a bento!

19 04 2011
bobo

Cute flying Rilakkuma!

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks bobo! 😀

19 04 2011
Lia Chen

Perfect cutting! Flying Rilakkuma absolutely adorable🙂 Your colorful bento will always be my favorite (^.^)

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks lia! i still have a long way to go to get to your egg sheet cutting skill level, but i was proud of my efforts here. used manicure scissors to smooth any rough edges.

19 04 2011
Bentobird/Jenn

Oh, so many great notions in this adorable bento. The title of this post had me grinning even before I saw it! Love, love the idea of giving soboro a spicy twist, these rich layers of flavors sound wonderful (cumin!). And soboro gives Flying Rilakkuma a perfect contrasting backdrop–so cute, down to his paw-pads.

(I love how Rilakumma is sooooo relaxed that he looks almost a bit medicated. Cute contrast to his peppy companions who are always like “Yay, we’re in PARIS!” or “hey, what an awesome spring picnic we’ve got here!”)

Sunny bright chorus of fruits and veggies are glorious. Happy Tuesday and thanks for the bento smile!

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks so much for your wonderful comment jenn! ha, my husband agrees with you on rilakkuma looking a bit drugged… and in that other pose i linked, my naughty hub said R looked like he was posing for a nude shot, HAHA! can’t wait to dig into the mexican soboro… happy tuesday to you too dear!

19 04 2011
Chantale

This is so cute! I also like Sheri’s take on what’s happening here. Kinda looks it as his face looks like, ‘gah! I’m in trouble if I don’t get outta here pronto!’. lol. My mouth’s just watering looking at the soboro, and did you say spicy? Oh yum!

19 04 2011
gamene

haha, sheri’s take is super funny and i can totally see it! thanks for popping by and for your comment chantale… wish i could share my spicy mex-soboro with you!

19 04 2011
karaimame

😀 I liked Sheri´s description! Looks so much he has tripped while escaping with the goodies!
Adorable bento, mexican soboro is a great idea! Do you use soy protein or similar?

19 04 2011
gamene

thanks lilian! yes, i am officially adopting sheri’s narrative, this little bandit was stealing the veggies and was foiled in his caper!

i use lightlife brand “smart ground” product, it’s definitely soy-based. here is the product info: http://www.lightlife.com/product_detail.jsp?p=smartgroundtaco

20 06 2011
AikoVenus

You’re so much better at cutting than I am.😦 But it is so adorable I guess I can let this pass. I have to use pasta sheets since I’m a vegan for my bentos though. ^^

3 12 2014
VW

can i know what is an egg sheet?

Leave a Reply

