yum-yum bento box: frogs bento

1 06 2010

over the long weekend, i received my long-awaited copy of “yum-yum bento box: fresh recipes for adorable lunches,” by pikko and lucky sundae.

rather than just doing a straight-up review of the book, which i spent a good portion of yesterday browsing, i thought that this week i would post some of pikko and lucky sundae’s bentos, recreated and re-mixed by me.  this is a great way to show how the boxes illustrated in the book are customize-able — you can take the characters from one, and use decorations or side dishes from another, etc., to end up with a creative, colorful and nutritionally balanced meal!

today’s lunch consists of two froggie onigiri, as pictured in the “frogs” bento on p. 26 of the book.  i dyed my rice green with the green salmon furikake from my five-color decoben furikake pack, and added cheese and nori eyes and nori mouths, just like in the book.  however, i replaced the nori nostrils with sesame seeds, and used a smaller mouth that i had already punched out and stored in a zip-loc bag a few weeks ago.

as far as the food, i don’t eat pork (though the pork patties in the book’s picture look perfectly yummy!), so i replaced that protein element with vegetarian chicken tenders.  instead of sesame spinach, i used steamed broccoli, and instead of carrot music notes, i used sliced baby carrots and a music note food pick.  i changed the corn-on-the-cob to a pretty corn-and-pea flower (as seen on p. 73 of the book), and added some salami-wrapped asparagus bundles (like the bundles seen on p. 62) and a hot dog tulip (instructions on p. 65).  for another cute touch, i added a molded quail egg (instructions on p. 117).  finally, i was out of baby tomatoes, so i used cherries for red color, and added some pea pods to fill in empty spaces around the bento.

accompanying me to lunch is a dancing froggie keychain/phone tassel i received in today’s mail from a thoughtful bento pal.  thanks you-know-who, it’s the cutest!


i also want to mention that this is the first chance i’ve had to use my new two-layer tiffin, my prize from the kawaii bento club’s “i love robots” contest (i’ve also got dip for my veggies in a cute yellow striped case that was part of the same prize package).  thanks again to briton for hosting this fun activity and for the generous prize!  if anyone hasn’t been over to kawaii bento club’s HQ on squidoo, surf on over for a wealth of information!


Actions

Information

26 responses

1 06 2010
sheri

Perfectly cute and yummy-looking! I have yet to try making the froggie onigiri, and this sweet bento makes me want to try. Fun lunch!

1 06 2010
gamene

thanks sheri, i used a teddy-shaped onigiri mold and it came together easily!

1 06 2010
Tammy/Kashmirkat

Haha – great minds think alike I guess – I too got my book and was inspired to finally make Onigiri – I did the Frog for a friend on Sunday night for Monday and the Tiger cubs last night for my hubby today 🙂 http://anamericaninbento.blogspot.com/ So fun! 🙂

How could anyone not be inspired by the Yum-Yum Bento Box book?!? 🙂

1 06 2010
gamene

i agree 100% tammy, the book is awesome… and so is your frogs bento! bet your friend was thrilled!

1 06 2010
Susan Yuen

Aw, super cute bento! Looks just like the one in the book. I can’t wait to get my copy, their book looks awesome!

1 06 2010
gamene

thanks susan, the frogs’ eyes came out just like in the book, but they’re less bright of a green, oh well. the best part of the book is how you can mix-and-match everything… so fun!

1 06 2010
mommyof2girlz

Oh stop that is just too cute. Love how you made it your own version. Can not wait to get my hands on that book..lol

2 06 2010
gamene

thanks steph! hope you get a copy soon, lots of fun ideas in there!

1 06 2010
Bentobird/Jenn

These sweet, curious froggie faces are instant smile makers and so perfectly placed in this musical celebration of bright fruits and veggies–yay!! I love the concept of this post, of “remixing” bento ideas and adapting them to your needs, its brilliant!

2 06 2010
gamene

thanks jenn, the frogs definitely did make me smile. the remixing is key because it allows moms to adapt to their kids’ food preferences, adults to adapt to dietary restrictions, etc. i’m loving breaking the book down into components!

1 06 2010
Debra

Aww…so cute! Totally inspiring description makes me want to make some froggies NOW! 🙂

2 06 2010
gamene

thanks debra! maybe frogs are a new mini-theme, would love to see your version!

2 06 2010
KidsDreamWork

The frogs are super cute! Love them! And I like the colourful combination of your bento so much too! 🙂

2 06 2010
gamene

thanks kidsdreamwork! this is a bigger box, so i had room to add lots of colorful foods, haha!

2 06 2010
tatabonita

It’s an example of perfect bento presentation Megan. The color combination, the food composition, the arrangement… beautiful! Oya, I’m curious about your flower quail egg? How did you make it? What kind of mold did you use? Thank you 😀

2 06 2010
gamene

thanks tata, you’re so sweet! i made the egg by hard boiling (i usually do quail eggs for only 4 minutes or so at a rolling boil), and then peeling it while it was still hot and putting it in a metal flower-shaped veggie cutter (the same ones i used for the carved carrot flower tutorial). you have to push it all the way down to the end so that it’s getting squeezed into the shaped part of the metal tube — i used a rounded handle end (from one of my spatulas) to push it without breaking it. i left it in the mold for a few minutes and then popped it in the fridge to cool down and set.

these instructions (with pictures!!) are in the yum-yum book, i thought it was a fab idea and i coudn’t wait to try!

2 06 2010
Luckysundae/Maki

Soooo cute!! Colorful and yummy, I really love it!!

2 06 2010
gamene

thanks maki! so honored to have you visit my blog, hope you think i’m doing ok with the stuff from the book and not making a mess of it too much!

4 06 2010
enslavedbyfaeries

Your froggies turned out so cute! I just got my copy of Yum Yum Bento Box yesterday and can’t wait to use it. Thanks again for entering the I Love Robots contest. I adore your blog. 🙂

4 06 2010
gamene

thanks briton! hope you enjoy working with yum-yum, it’s been so much fun for me too. and i adore KBC!

4 06 2010
Yum-Yum Frogs Bento – Bento Central

[…] Yum-Yum inspired frog onigiri make for a fun and filling lunch!  Details at bento zen. Share and […]

16 06 2010
25 10 2011
Ulysse Nardin now has an official Facebook presence .. – (1 Reply) | Hello Watches!

[…] heuer professional tag heuer replica tag heuer sunglasses tag heuer uhren tag heuer usati tag heuer watch tag heuer watch bands tag heuer watches tag heuer […]

29 02 2012
Get Your Leap Day Hoppin’ with Frog-Themed Foods! | Yummly

[…] Froggy Onigiri Bento (from bentozen) […]

15 07 2012
elizabeth

how could i get dancing froggie keychain/phone

27 01 2021
Check This Out

I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the issue is one thing that not sufficient individuals are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something referring to this.

Leave a comment