happy snail bento

5 04 2011

tomorrow’s lunch was inspired by a snail bento by the talented lucky sundae – how cute, right?!  i love her work.  my snail is a little bit different, but with the same “shell” — i used white cheese, yellow soy paper, steamed carrot and fish sausage.  i gave my snail little fish sausage cheeks, too!  and my snail is crawling on a sesame leaf.

the base for the snail scene is omurice — a thin egg crepe wrapped around fried rice (i fried mine with kimchi and tofu).  in the back section of the box, i put the last of the leftover broiled salmon, some steamed brussels sprouts, purple cauliflower, romesco, pea pods, takuwan, a plump vine tomato, and a carrot butterfly.

bento4japan european raffle winners have been chosen, but you can still donate, and there are still charity auctions to bid on!


Actions

Information

21 responses

5 04 2011
sheri

There’s that purple cauliflower, and romanesco too! And with Brussels sprouts? I used those today too. A lovely, neat bento with a soft-looking omurice. Your snail is much cuter than the ones I found on my tomato plant this morning. I copper-taped the pot and now I better not see any more!
Enjoy!

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks sheri! brussels sprouts are always a treat for me, great that TS and MM like them too, so healthy! funny that you have *real* snails – i’m a city slicker so i don’t get into the garden much, i can imagine them being less cute if they were eating produce i was carefully nurturing!

5 04 2011
Debra

You know… I love snails. I’m sure that doesn’t make gardeners happy. But snails are cool and your bento is the coolest.

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks debra! i love them too — but i don’t grow anything and i could totally see them pissing me off if i had a tomato plant they were getting into!

5 04 2011
oen_priyanto

the snails are to cute to eat…. i love it.

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks so much oen! i will definitely eat him, though, cute or not😀

6 04 2011
bobo

ooo.. cute snails and you all the colours in the bento.. lovely..

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks bobo! i was so pleased to see the bright green romesco and the purple cauliflower back in my market… a sign of spring :o)

6 04 2011
Lia Chen

I admire your skills and your talents. Your bento always WOW me. I think the cute snail is very happy in that luxury colorful garden🙂

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks lia, you are way too kind — love the description of the garden as “luxury,” hope the snail is comfortable there until i eat him🙂

6 04 2011
KidsDreamWork

This happy snail bento definitely brightened up my day even by just looking at it!🙂

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks kidsdream work! always happy to make my bento pals smile🙂

6 04 2011
karaimame

Yay! Just packing the box for the winner of the raffle! ^__^
So cute snail! why real snails don’t look as good as?😛
Nice veggies make the perfect garden🙂

6 04 2011
gamene

yay for the raffle winner, so jealous of the cute stuff they are getting! kudos again for amazing such a cool fundraiser.

haha i agree real snails aren’t as cute😀

6 04 2011
Bentobird/Jenn

So cute, so cool and so cheerful! Bright polka dot mug and sweet checked background add to the innocent air of fun. Lia said it so
well: this happy snail roams in a luxury garden!

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks jenn! i love using the happy spring props, and the mugs were such a treat to buy because now my morning tea-drinking is so much more cheerful :o)

6 04 2011
Cooking Gallery

This looks cute yet elegant! Love the sweet looking snail :D),

6 04 2011
gamene

thanks for your comment cooking gallery!😀

6 04 2011
Debbie @ Dandelions

So pretty! I love your snail! I wish we had more interesting and pretty veggies and fruits available around here like the purple cauliflower. I managed to find purple potatoes and blood oranges at the store this week which is probably the most exotic produce imaginable in these parts of PA. LOL

6 04 2011
gamene

i LOVE purple potatoes and always scour my farmers/natural markets for them… so nice score for you! and thanks for your sweet comment🙂

7 04 2011
Bento 135: Kimchi omuraisu | notabrownbag

[…] else but kimchi fried rice (kimchi boekkumbop) omuraisu! I saw this really pretty omuraisu over at gamene‘s, and seriously could not remember the last time I had omuraisu. Rice with fried egg is a […]

Leave a Reply

